Need help about my new car radio options

Genetic

I'm wondering if I would be in a better position by buying a USB memory (64GB around 200$) or a new iPod exclusively for the car at 275$. I have no experience using USB stick for listening to music files and I'm a bit concern for the sound quality. Presuming the USB device will be more cold resistent if left (forgot) for a longer period of time in the car, I dont want to sacrifice too much for the sake of durability.

Have you any idea on wich one will be ahead in this comparaison when using large files (lossless exclusively).

Thanks in advance,

Amicalement from the North....:cool:

They should sound more or less the same. The biggest difference is that the disk drive will eventually fail in the iPod, and the EPROM on the USB stick will eventually fail (I'm not sure which way the comparison goes, unfortunately). Are you sure the car radio will be able to play files off the USB stick? It probably does, but it might be there specifically for an iPod (this I'm not so sure about).

I think the biggest consideration here is interface and convenience. I use a USB stick in my car, and while I love to just plug it into the glove box and forget about it, the interface via my car stereo sucks. Hitting a button to scroll through 164 different albums one at a time take forever, and for some reason it will put a large chunk of artists out of alphabetical order. With an iPod on the other hand I could find my desired album in a few seconds.

Are you sure the car radio will be able to play files off the USB stick? It probably does, but it might be there specifically for an iPod (this I'm not so sure about).

Thanks for the reply. Yes it is suppose to accept many forms of imputs:

Alpine Electronics of America, Inc.