Von Schweikert VR-1, anyone tried/own?

wrecked_porsche

Hey guys, anyone here tried/own a pair Von Schweikert VR-1 bookshelf speakers? My cousin's friend is selling a brand new pair for $1000. Apparently the guy liked it soo much he bought two pairs back in the day with one serving as backup. The set he is selling is the backup set which is new and unused. I have no experience when it comes to speakers so I

Why not stop by his place with your cousin and have a listen? Or go to the local audio shop?

Yup, I fully intent to do so(visit that guy for an audition) before I buy them. Its just that I'm very busy the next two weeks and also a little short on cash, so was just wondering if these are really quite good; i.e. good enough for me to tell the guy to hold these for me. I've been in situations before where I took something for granted and the next thing I knew, *poof* the item was out of my reach/grasp because it was sold.

I was just hoping that someone had tried these and maybe able to post about some of that speaker's shortcomings that I should look out for when I audition them? All I see mostly praise for it when I do some online digging?

You can get VR-1s a lot cheaper than that. There is a brand new pair on agon right now for $700 and I know I've seen them cheaper used.

Shipped to Malaysia, though?

Audio stuff is quite expensive over here in Malaysia...

New W5000 --> roughly $1200 $1350

New HD650 --> $390

New ES7 --> $136

New VR-1 --> $1500

Used Quad 11L (pasive) --> $395

Used Quad 12L (pasive) --> $451

So yeah, things are pretty much screwed up over here...