aerator? decanter? wine, that is

Dusty Chalk

Found two threads, one on the other on interestingly enough. Why should I go one way or the other? I understand the value of a decanter -- lets the wine breathe, albeit in a controlled fashion, while cat hair and asbestos doesn't settle into it.

I seem to remember someone (tyrion?) getting something and having a positive opinion of it, but it's not coming up while searching for "aerator'. Something like a hand-held or bottletop device like this one.

So...any new opinions on this? I don't have room for that whole let it drip thing, but I could probably find room for a proper decanter/carafe thingy. But I'll probably go with the decanting pourer if no-one pipes up with something that doesn't involve scorpions or shovels or headless women.

I have seen the Venturi one at Costco recently.. I just thought of them as more of a gimmick. I have been decanting wines for many years, and always have seen the benefit of the wait time (sometimes hours). But after reading the Amazon reviews and looking at other sources, I may give it a try. I hardly do anything to my white wines (other than the aggressive glass swirl, and down it goes). It is not that much of an investment to give it a try (and Costco's return policy is really easy). I have tried the little bottle top kind, and it did not seem to make much difference to my palate.

Cheers,

Mikey

I really like the Vinturi for what it does to the taste. Truly a ton of air is infused very quickly into the wine for people like me who don't have the patience to wait.

Just a caution, though. I've now had Three Vinturi devices, and the first one, the regular one, was fine function-wise. I then got the "Deluxe" version with the stand. The main pour devices actually are a little different, even in size. And the "Deluxe" one developed leaking, through the little side holes that are supposed to suck in air. It's easy to make a mess.