Transferring applications and other data in OSX

Since it's possible this topic is helpful to someone else, I've decided to start a new thread, instead of posting the question at the venerable Mac thread.

I'm about upgrading a mid 2010 13"MBP adding more memory (actually changing both chips for larger ones), replacing the optic drive for a 256 SSD one, and changing the stock HDD for a WD 1TB unit.

This MB has become my main computer until I'm sure I really want/need a 27"iMac (mostly a 6 weeks delivery term sucks). Still I'm a OSX rookie and I can't find the folders which should be transferred from this old-to-be system HDD into the new system SSD drive. They're supposed to be in the root user directory but they're not.

I'd like to keep Mail accounts, messages and inboxes, most internet sites cookies, passwords, and a few applications configurations, such as uTorrent, Calibre, iTunes, OO, etc. I've looked into the Migration Utility, but it seems to be designed to transfer data from a working Mac into the new one. Unsure it can be used for this purpose.

I wouldn't like to just backup the current system and restoring it into the upgraded MB, I much prefer doing a clean install. The idea is using a SD card I keep with Mountain Lion as boot drive, so I can do a clean install into the SSD. Unsure it's a good idea configuring the SSD and the HDD as a Fusion Drive in the Disks Utility.

Any advice about proceedings, information to keep and transfer, tips and pitfalls will be very welcome.

Might I ask why you want to do a clean install? I would normally suggest that, if the contents of your current drive are less than 256 GB, to clone that over to the new SSD and be done with it. Unlike Windows, where I found a clean install every year helped speed things up for me, I've never really felt the need with my various Macs (the last time I did a clean install was 2006!, and the two times I upgraded computers I just cloned or moved the HD).