Most rugged, reasonably priced mouse?

I no longer feel comfortable traveling with my Logitech Trackman, as that is discontinued and sells for > US$100 on Amazon, much less eBay. And I don't seen an equivalent, although I'll be getting the Logitech wireless thingy to try.

So...any recommendations on rugged mice? I want something I can throw in my bag that can endure the abuse I plan on giving it. Especially the buttons. Or should I get a hard clamshell or something to protect it? Not that that will save it from the abuse. I tend to press harder on the buttons or downright bang on them when the computer becomes unresponsive or starts doing something I don't want it to do.

Optical or laser? Laser, right? Because most surfaces short of flat black work, right?

Any advice would be appreciated.

I have been using a razer copperhead since 2004 and even though I don't game anymore all other mice fail miserably by comparison. I really hard shell ought to protect it well I think. And if you are lugging all this gear around anyways, why not get a cheap mouse pad to throw in the bag? Then laser or not doesn't matter. Will also keep the skates from getting rough. They don't make the copperhead anymore but I would assume any gamer mouse would take more abuse than a regular mouse. Probably not but I think gamers use it a lot more than non gamers do.

I have been using a razer copperhead since 2004 and even though I don't game anymore all other mice fail miserably by comparison. I really hard shell ought to protect it well I think. And if you are lugging all this gear around anyways, why not get a cheap mouse pad to throw in the bag? Then laser or not doesn't matter. Will also keep the skates from getting rough. They don't make the copperhead anymore but I would assume any gamer mouse would take more abuse than a regular mouse. Probably not but I think gamers use it a lot more than non gamers do.