A Question of Amplification

postjack

Good Morning Team!

So I've decided 2009 is the year of new speaker amplification. I have no intentions of upgrading my vinyl rig until the distant future, and I'm done with digital sources indefinitely. My speakers are Quad 22Ls, and my current amp is the Cambridge Audio 840A integrated. When I was posting of my out of control bass woes over at Audio Asylum, at least one guy who I've exchanged emails with before said the 840A might be the problem, and that I should look to other amps. Well I don't have bass problems anymore since I moved the speakers into a new room, but I certainly could appreciate some greater control and heft in the bottom end.

My issue here is that I have no experience with anything amplifying my speakers other then the 840A, and I want to hear about your experiences with different speaker amplification with your speakers. In other words, the classic "how much of a difference does it make" question. Now when it comes to headphones, I have been through quite a number of headphone amps, and found them to make a good bit of difference, mainly with the HD650, and mainly in the bass region. But what should I expect from changing amps with speakers?