Considering a move to vintage horn type speakers

jp11801

I've got a great pair of speakers in the Alon Lotus SE's. They do so much right and are untouchable (IMHO) in the used under $2k category but I have been chasing the horn dragon since attending VSAC a few years back.

Best sound at the show for me was a toss up between the GoTo horns and the modded Altec Voice of the Theaters that Exemplar was running. The presence was downright scary and they were super fast. Well I've owned the Klipsch Heresy speakers and they did not do much for me. They were fun but showed their age with lack of extension and detail. This was after a cap upgrade and tweeter upgrade. They were good for the $$$ but not keepers.

So I am pondering a move to Altec Model 19s or Khorns. I am probably more serious about the 19s simply because they are slightly smaller. Both are crazy at 143 lbs and 180 lbs and both are about 40 inches wide by 24 inches plus deep but the Khorns are a foot and a half taller (not sure that even would matter).

Anyway anybody here have experience with these beasts? I know David loves the 19s but I am looking for second opinions. This is for a second speaker rig as my living arrangements today lend themself to a second system.

John, I don't have any direct experience with either, but found this discussion interesting: <meta name="description" content="Klipsch audio systems provide the true audio/video lover a wide variety of high performance loudspeakers and loudspeaker systems for music and home theater entertainment centers, including iPod speakers, multimedia s It seems that the main concern with the 19s is the bass response (or lack thereof) below 40 or so.

I spent a lot of time with the Klipsch back in the day.