What to do next?

bhjazz

New headphones: do want.

Problems: I'm still studying Java at UW. It comsumes about 95% of my free time so regular headphone listening just doesn't happen unless I get spare time at work, which is also rare. I'll be done in June, though.

I'm thinking of three possibilities:

ATH-ESW9

Good: Good form factor for work, seem to respond reasonably well to amps.

Bad: Would I use them outside of work?

RS2i

Good: Enjoyed these when hearing the RS2 a year or so back. Would be a nice 32ohm phone for use with the Ventus or future suitable amps. Might be nice to have for a work rig, albeit maybe a little overkill.

Bad: Maybe a little pricy for leaving at work.

LS-2

Good: Well, geez! Love these. They are on the "will buy eventually" list.

Bad: Probably wouldn't get these until Summer, after completing school. They would not stay at work.

JH13: I don't have much time to get these right. Plus if these were used at work, they'd be in and out of my ears too much.

Upcoming builds:

Bijou

Buffalo dac

Some Millett Max build that I understand I can't miss.

Also in the house:

HD600

Shure SE310 (selling soon)

CK2III

Ventus

DVP-S9000ES

Theta Casanova (with a nice DAC)

Sure, the way I'm leaning is obvious. I"m just curious what my 'case friends would do.

Thanks!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

FWIW I use the ESW9 at work, powered by an M3 and y2 DAC, and I was quite happy with the whole shebang for a long time. But compared to the new dynamic rig I am using at home (Buffalo/Crack/HD650) the work rig now just sounds flat and lifeless. I am definitely looking to upgrade to some better phones for work, but have no idea what yet. I was thinking Thunderpants, but it would be a big cash outlay......

Interesting. Well, the last time I heard HF-2s, I thought they sounded a bit flat, but its been a while.